Tonight my son had a bit of trouble falling asleep. Most nights he falls asleep hard and fast and doesn’t wake up until morning. He began to whimper as we were watching a movie and by the end he was in a full out cry. He responds much better to me than my daughter did at that age, so I went up and entered his room to find him standing in his crib with tears rolling down his face. I picked him up and decided to give a little more milk. I came back and held him for several minutes to calm him down.

He finished his cup that he was drinking and I placed it on the table next to the chair. I love it when he calms down for me. He just lays there and either falls asleep or just sits there looking up at me. He did that for a few minutes and began reaching his hand out for his cup. Even though it was empty, I think it’s a little bit of a security thing for him. I reached out and placed my hand on his and was reminded that mine could surround his completely.

If I had to pick a favorite body part, I think it would be the hands. They can say so much about a person. My hands are short and stalky. I have hair on my knuckles. They are rough from all the painting supplies I use on a weekly basis. My wedding ring is too big since I have lost about 55 lbs in the last year. I have a bump on my right middle finger that has been there forever. On that same finger I have a damaged cuticle that won’t seem to heal and a wart that won’t go away!  I have my dad’s hands. My dad’s hands are strong. They were often used for calming fears, guiding us in the right direction, and keeping us close to him. I always trusted them and I knew he knew what was best for me. I love my hands! I love my hands because they are a perfect reminder of my daddy and also a great reminder of my heavenly daddy. It’s comforting to know that my heavenly daddy has a much broader perspective than I could imagine and He plans to guide me, to calm me, and keep me close to Him as I seek His will for my life!